For my readers delight! The first author interview ... and its Tree man! Kaez. *The crowd roars with excitement* Many of the folks reading this probably know him as one of the Administrators for "A Writer's Recluse." Hope you enjoy.

Promise to give you another personal update soon. Had a bit of an interesting weekend and an awesome idea for a little author story.

Love!


SHOWCASED: 16.

you radiate the color
of the sunflowers in december

your eyes are slowly dulling
but they used to be a symphony

you smile at people more now
but i think you know you dont

yeah youre really good at dancing
in a superficial sort of way

id like to know where you bought your costume
i bet its one of those expensive places

sometimes i think of the metaphor
of a circus elephant born in africa
who got caught up in performing
and forgot all about everything else

i just wanted to share that with you
for my sake more than yours

okay the poem is over
now get out of my fucking house

© Pete Crivellaro



Name(s)?
Pete Crivellaro (Kaez of “A Writer’s Recluse”)

Age?
17

Location?
Pennsylvania, US

Favourite -physical- feature about you?
Well, yes. Lots of things [I like]. But nothing physical. I've never been one to care about anything physical at all.

Favourite -not physical- feature about you?
My horribly short attention span. It never, ever lets me finish anything substantial or stay with any writing project for very long at all, but it means I'm constantly trying something new; I'm always experimenting with a new style, a new plot. It lets me explore a lot that I otherwise don't think I'd have the opportunity to. Sort of a bitter-sweet thing.

Favourite colour?
Favourite colour would have to be green. Vegetarian hipsters have to prefer green. It's in the manual.

Favourite food?
Favourite food is something I can't really boil down to a single answer. I'm an avid cook and I'm always toying with new foods and trying out new recipes -- if it's vegetarian and it's weird, I'm going to make it. It's given me a pretty wide appreciation for foods, but I think my favourites would probably be any of a wide variety of fruits: pomegranates, lemons, limes, kiwifruits... I'm a bit of a junkie for fresh fruits and my juicer is at the centre of my kitchen.

Favourite music?
Favourite music changes far too rapidly for any sort of definite response. Lately, I've been hooked on Animal Collective -- their discography is basically on a constant loop around here and they're forcing me to upgrade my audio equipment just to further enjoy their music. Before this it was Devin Townsend, and before that it was tons of shamanic music and, oddly, some hip-hop. Who knows what'll come next, my iTunes library is constantly expanding in every direction. Kanye West's new album is pretty great, so there's that.

When writing – What is your preferred genre/style?
Yet another thing that varies with a remarkable frequency! For a long time I stuck around fantasy and sci-fi and worked my way into long, epic story-lines. Lately, I've taken precisely the opposite route and done short, real-world, informal poetry. I'm sure I'll have a new writing fetish soon enough, but I'm pretty stuck on this poetry kick lately, only rarely diverging.

What are you really proud of so far in your writing career?
Well, I finished NaNoWriMo in pretty great time. The story I wrote, which I later went and revamped, is pretty good. It's unfinished and could use a lot of polishing, but it's easy for me to see the subtle changes in my writing from the first few chapters to the last few. It definitely was crucial to developing my prose and I think, without having done it, I'd likely be much less skilled on various fronts than I suspect I am now.

Who is your biggest inspiration/muse?
Oh, boy. I've got tons. I've always taken a lot of inspiration from Tolkien, who really defined a lot of my earlier writing. Later I moved onto Clarke and Asimov and soon enough I had a wider range of inspirations than I could give credit for. More recently, Walt Whitman, Robert Frost, R. Scott Bakker, Dostoevsky, and interestingly, quite a few webcomics: Pictures for Sad Children, Noncanon, 8-Bit Theater, and Everything Dies being four that come to mind.

Tell us about the piece you have selected to “Showcase”?
'16' is a piece in an untitled poetry collection I've been working on lately. Most of them are at least significantly inspired by first-hand accounts and I'm using virtually no punctuation in them -- not for any real metaphorical reason, just because I like the look of it. I think it helps the words flow into the reader. This one, specifically, sort of relies on the fluidity of the reading and the natural way that certain words and stops create pauses and hesitations. Or maybe I think it's a lot more complicated and fine-tuned than it actually is and that really it's just a pretty okay poem.

Pete’s other poems!
http://www.awritersrecluse.proboards.com....d=s&thread=2727






Jackal
11/28/2010 10:52:05 pm

Sounds like the tree-man, alright. I'm surprised to read he has a short attention span, though, but I suppose that explains his diverse talents.

Reply
James
11/29/2010 02:18:30 am

Nice interview. Although I felt there was a missed chance over pressuring him about his perverse attitudes towards midgets.

...

I will put this all over the internet, Pete.

Reply
Dragon
11/29/2010 03:19:43 pm

Come on Reffy, where were the hard hitting questions? What about his illegal underground smuggling operation of non organic feralizers (not a typo) or his affiliations with midget prostitutes?

Reply
A.T. Exan
11/29/2010 06:00:14 pm

What bout his complicity in the CIA and Pentagon's development of AIDS, which backfired and resulted in his contraction of miniAIDS which he has now irresponsibly spread across a great majority of the Euro-American midget population?

Reply
Jenny Delaney
11/29/2010 07:27:26 pm

Goodness, you lot worry me some times!

Reply
Jackal
11/29/2010 07:55:08 pm

Sometimes it does disturb me that I left the most normal comment here.

Other times, it outright amuses me.

Reply
A.T. Exan
11/30/2010 12:39:45 am

I, for one, revel in my role as the proprietor of vast right-wing conspiracies.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed