Dedicated to Anonymous

I take your heart
The broken pieces
I will tie and mend
With pink ribbon
And glittery glue
Once fixed
I will place it
Lovingly
On a shelf in a room
That contains
An identical heart
With similar broken pieces
Held together like a fragile
Spider web
Caught in a light spring breeze

© Jennifer Delaney

 

Just as a little treat! There’s the love poem I was working on. I think I finally got the sorrow “mirror” feeling I was aiming for. Hoping it translates well enough to my readers. Somebody pointed out that it was a little creepy because it's like I am collecting hearts ... but its only two! I’m not creepy, honest. Basically it is me taking “Anonymous” dodgy ticker and storing it alongside my own broken heart – which I’ve also tried to patch up. Dark but beautiful and innocent ... I hope!

Not much to tell folks today. I went for an awesome walk on the beach last night and watched the sun set. It was so beautiful and it’s always peaceful there. Surprisingly I didn’t feel much of the cold either but that could be because the wind had settled down. I played with my footprints along a stretch of sand. It is just so nice to act like a child again sometimes and the sand here can be really fun because it leaves mega-deep prints; feels like a trampoline. It is surprising sometimes how calming such places can be and how they can make you feel. I’ve always lived by the sea. I don’t think I could imagine what life would be like away from the sea or without a river.

The pub social event was good. It was really weird seeing some of the people again. Not seen them for a good 5 years? They‘re just as wicked as they were before! I only intended to nurse one “KoppenBerg: Strawberry and Lime Cider” and then move on to lemonade/Sprite but they kept buying me more ciders. Suffering today for it! Seriously considering that teetotal option now. I love the taste of the cider but getting tipsy isn’t all that fun and especially not in the morning with the acidy feeling in your belly! Muddled thoughts because of the alcohol aren’t much fun either (and it is a depressant). This just leaves another question in mind: what do you drink if you aren’t touching alcohol in a pub? I’m wondering if there is a non-alcoholic cider because I do like the taste (not just apple juice). Friends will probably find this a little weird – everybody drinks!

On the bright side I do recommend the 5-bean chilli that The George (“Wetherspoons”) does in Littlehampton, West Sussex. Its also vegetarian friendly because it uses Quorn mince. So yummy! Had mine with chips (fries to the American folks reading this) and tortilla chips, with a huge dollop of sour cream. I’m a bit of a wimp when it comes to spicy. It was a pretty amazing meal for only £6-ish. They’re doing really good business-wise and even have a vegetarian breakfast option that could feed two!

Got pretty much nothing to do today. I might go for another walk to the beach. Should take a pen and paper with me this time too because I had all sorts of inspiration hit me last night that got washed away by the cider. Supposed to be meeting up with somebody later (or sometime this weekend) but he has a cold, so I doubt it would be a good idea to haul him out of his warm house. Heh, I’m such a Mum! Worrying about everybody all of the time and taking care of the sickies.

Of course, there’s always the option of staying home all wrapped up warm too.
*Silly grin*

 

 

 

Twining
11/26/2010 11:59:36 pm

Wonder who that poem is too

Reply
Twinings
11/27/2010 12:00:27 am

I wonder who that poem is about ? some lucky guy?

Reply
Jenny Delaney
11/27/2010 05:19:33 am

Never you mind! 'Tis a secret.

Reply
Jackal
11/28/2010 10:46:49 pm

Wonder who that lucky guy is about? Some poem?

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed