First blog-post and I’m not entirely sure what to say now that I have finally got this kick-started! I’ve been talking about launching this for a while now but I was side-tracked every time I went to investigate. Real life is, for want of a better word, hairy! I suppose I could call it hectic but that might be an understatement.

Still, you don’t want to hear me complaining all night! So bring on the good news:

I’ve just completed (this past week) my second year at NaNoWriMo (the National Novel Writing Month challenge). Got to say: it was easier than last year! Huzzah! Not entirely sure why this was exactly. It could be that last year was my first time ever really writing something above 20k words, so there were a lot of new boundaries that I crossed.

The novel this year was a lot raunchier. (Last year it was a pretty innocent fantasy world: “Bel-Gonows: The Child”, which you will see snippets for and hear about in the coming year.) This time it was about “Alonzo Asa” ... the best character I have ever created. He was just begging to be written about, and again, I had been talking about rewriting his story for a long time before NaNoWriMo. The challenge just gave me the perfect excuse to sit down and actually give it a bash.

Got to say, writing 2k words every day for the last 20-ish days had been pretty hard! The common misconception is that writers get to sit back and really enjoy a luxurious life-style but I think I would disagree. Keeping creativity up and flowing like that, even when you’ve had a hell of a morning and the rest of the day isn’t looking up, takes real guts and determination. I suppose it’s like the rest of the writing World. You’ve just got to keep at it! (Read: “Just keep swimming, swimming, swimming!” ... I loved Dory from “Finding Nemo”)

Hats off to those authors who have made it and can do it every day for a living. It was pretty satisfying to get to 50k knowing I managed an average of 2.3k every day (yes, I cried!)

I’m pretty pleased with how “Alonzo” did turn out though. There were more than a few genius moments, even if I do say so myself. The latter half of the 50k is not as horrible as “Bel-Gonows” turned out to be either. It also helps that somebody has read all 50k words. The novel itself has got a way to go before it’s actually finished mind you. I’m probably looking at 90k ... which I need to really if I ever want to see it published!

Other good news? Hmm. I finally have internet at the new place I’m staying at.

I visited the NaNoWriMo-Brighton Social Event last night too. Got to say: bunch of awesome people! Such creativity under one roof was brilliant. First time I ever heard “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock” by T. S. Eliot (http://www.bartleby.com/198/1.html) recited – in English and then French and then back to English. Got to say I have never laughed so much! Really liked the poem too. I would give it a proper review for you folks but I doubt I could ever do it justice!

(Oh, and I did use the “panic jar” at the Social Event. The panic jar is there for anybody panicking because they have ran out of creative juices or if they have hit a road-block in their plot. I just used it because I figured it would be a good challenge to throw in since I already have my 50k. My little bit of inspirational advice was “Chains make everything better!” Not sure how I am going to work that into the novel, to be honest! A little daunted by how ... erotic ... it’s turned out so far!)

Think I have said everything I possibly can do this time. I’m hoping to update this weekly, although I’ll probably do it more often. I’ll get a snippet up from Alonzo soon as well! Some thing for you folks to read ... and maybe a Flash Fiction too because they are just fun.

So for now! Love and see you next time. Thanks for reading.

9/25/2014 04:53:22 pm

Merchandise online for a second time, as a consequence of revenue limits, That i begun to confine my best vacations into the theatres and just vacation from home together with regarded thru pay off in each observe dvds. The most beneficial solution option to also benefit from dvds is certainly by just investing in pay off in each observe dvds.

Reply
9/25/2014 04:53:39 pm

That i for no reason quite possibly thought of choosing pay off in each observe dvds given that That i were feeling that this were price my best revenue. Merchandise online for a second time, wanting it all adjusted my best completely opinion. A median video clip price tag during the theatres varieties with $8-$12. three-dimensionally determined cinemas may also charge you a good whooping expense for $18-25.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed