Welp! As the year draws to a close I cannot help but think about the crazy year I’ve had. A whole bunch of things happened this year – stuff I will not be going into detail about because it’s still a very fresh cut and it doesn’t need talking about – but my friends have always been there for me.

As much as I wanted to avoid the little speech thing (like the celebrities do at the Oscars) I do want to just give a little shout out to the many people who supported me, who stood by me, who made me laugh, who told me it was okay to cry, who believed in me, and who – most of all – let me be just a little bit insane for a while to get it out of my system! You will never know just exactly how much you mean to me because I cannot put tears, smiles, laughter, happiness, that-much-greatness, down into words! I just hope you can see a glimpse of my gratitude!

Moving swiftly on, after I have undoubtedly embarrassed myself! I haven’t done much in the way of getting published lately. I’ve been mostly caught up in running back and forth from work, while trying to study a few things (Buddhism, mostly. Hey! You wanted to know!) Along with trying to survive against the waves of drama at home. I do intend to pick up the attempts again in the New Year and I will keep you updated. (On that matter alone: sorry about the lack of updates recently!)

Hmm – other news? I will be visiting family during January and maybe February depending on who is willing to put up with me! Hoping to touch base with a lot of people/family – even if it is only for a day or weekend. (I think getting in touch with family right now would be a good thing ... especially since I haven’t seen most of them for more than three years!)

Still nothing on the job-front but to be honest I haven’t been looking very hard either. Clinton Cards didn’t offer me a job but I didn’t exactly expect them to do so either! I do miss that place, even if it was a little volatile towards the end. I know they will be contacting me again if anything comes up. I live quite close-by if they have any staff ill or need a quick hand for a day.

For Christmas I got a bunch of very whacky things – which was pretty awesome! It included a notepad, mugs with Henry the Hoover on, a new bag, chocolate, and three incense burners (damn they must think I’m a hippy! Although I do love the elephant one!) It was a pretty good Christmas, actually, albeit it very different from the past few years. I had a Quorn chicken roast (fake-meat for the win) which tasted more like turkey and was great with cranberry sauce. There was a different feast for three consecutive days. I was hella impressed by the cooking and patience!  My roast lasted the three days while everybody else ate the meat. I also got a good share of sprouts, cauliflower cheese, peas, gravy, roasted spuds ... and most of all: warmed mince pies with oodles of custard and a dollop of ice-cream. Needless to say: I no longer care about my waist-line!

New Years will be spent up at the Cittaviveka – a second and third visit for me. I’m pretty excited and hope all of my plans work out! Mum is driving me there, and picking me up the next day, and I am staying with a friend overnight (THANK YOU!) It’s a lot of logistics and things that can go wrong ... and I will definitely owe the people helping me to make it happen. The Monks at the Monastery have a special Dharma talk, meditation, chanting, all sorts going on. They even have a Lay-following thing on New Years day: a retaking of the precepts ... stuff like: no killing, lying, and no sexual misconduct (wikilink: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Five_Precepts). I’m looking forward to watching and participating. The energy at Cittaviveka is just amazing and healing.

Ponder ... do I have anything else to tell you about? I will definitely tell you all about the New Years up at the Buddhist Monastery once it’s all over!

Oh! I finally finished the Dr Seuss story for the AWritersRecluse monthly Flash Assignment. I was really happy with the final product. It was rather daft really. I spend ages investigating how Dr Seuss did what Dr Seuss does ... the meters and the rhymes and I even rented “Green Eggs and Ham” from the library ... but eventually it all came down to one night and a sudden moment of genius thinking. I just sat down and started writing a rather simple story, two lines, rhyming couplets, with no amazing meter, and it worked pretty well. See for yourself here: http://awritersrecluse.proboards.com/index.cgi?action=display&board=mpa&thread=3481&page=1#275359 . I was happy with the final outcome, even if it isn’t quite what I was aiming for! I definitely think Jordoom has won this time. He managed to include religion with his story and it is very quirky!  We shall have to wait until the judges weigh-in. I will let you know how well it fares.

I bid you a goodnight and a good New Years celebration, dedicated blog followers. I hope the New Year brings you a lot of joy and happiness, maybe some financial gain, awesome changes in your life, or perhaps a new lover. I have no idea what it has in store for me but I shall definitely find out! With no direction to head in, I think sitting still is the best option, before running heedlessly after something stupid ... but then, any direction could also be applicable!

Much love, to all of you! x







Dragon
12/30/2010 05:54:24 am

You fill my heart with happiness. ;)

Reply
Jackal
12/31/2010 11:47:39 am

Oh, whoops, I forgot to check your blog before doing AWR messaging. Oh well.

No gratitude is really needed. It has always and will always be my pleasure to chat with you, and if I can make you smile, all the better! Besides.

CRAZIES ROOL! \m/

And honestly, I actually failed both the flash and story this month >.> I blame the holiday(s) and Cata launch!... Alright, fine. My procrastination as well.

Well, whatever the new year holds, I'm very glad I got to know you in the last one. Hopefully I get to know some more awesome people in the next one, get loads of great stuff done in the creative zone and LOOT DEATHWING!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed