Eeew! Dog slobber! There’s four dogs in the household currently and each as “licky” as the other. I love them to bits ... but goodness it’s like getting showered with doggy-kisses when you get greeted. Dogs really do solve all your problems and usually with just one wag of the tail and a lick. Remind me to attempt to get a picture for the blog some time.

It is freezing here. I cannot feel my fingers and I wish I could not feel my toes! The wind has such a chill that it feels like its pulling off chunks of soft flesh when it catches you. The northern parts of England have had some snow and I reckon this year we might get a fair snow-fall in the south too. If snow does happen I will get you a snowman picture! That is a promise. It usually doesn’t snow this far south and the clouds struggle to get over “The Downs” ---get over the downs. Sounds funny typing that out! It’s basically a whole bunch of hills and countryside, and extremely beautiful! Excellent for walking the dogs along.

For those who haven’t yet seen: Alonzo snippet is finally up! Sorry it took so long to sort out. I hope you enjoy it. That is the first chapter, the very beginning of the book, right up until the first “jump” back to his past. It gives you a little taster as to the darker side of Alonzo and his urge. It is a little ... adult but not by too much, I don’t think. It should be safe for most audiences. If that little passage doesn’t get you hooked immediately then ... then ... well, you aren’t human!

I’m in a fanciful mood today: feeling mushy and romantic. I attempted to write a mushy poem last night but it wasn’t great. Probably revisit it today (after lunch, just noticed my belly grumbling) to give it a tidy up and rework. It didn’t capture the sorrow and “mirror” that I wanted it to. I’ll probably post it up here once it’s finished. The idea just popped last night while chattering and it was too powerful to just let it die.

I’ve also got a section from “Bel-Gonows: The Child” that I want to turn into a Flash fiction for sharing. I want to get some Fantasy-work done, some of the lighter side of writing. Indulge in my vast imagination for an afternoon. Might even sit down and get some more done for Alonzo! Got plenty “on the go” within my creative mind. Definitely feeling the creative burn on my fingertips (... but that could just be the rawness from NaNoWriMo! Heh)

I did end up sending “Hugbugs” to “Untied Shoelaces of The Mind” yesterday. (Thank you, Mako!) Fingers crossed again folks. That’s two things out with publishers (of the e-zine kind). Other authors say you just need to keep sending the story out until somebody takes a liking to it ... so I’m going to try and keep at least one piece out at any given time. Very nervous about “Hugbugs” though. The two pieces I have sent for publication so far have been “Bus-Route Rain” and “Cardboard Spaceships” which are both under 200 words. “Hugbugs” is around 1.3k. It’s the first longer piece of fiction I have sent off for consideration. The story is a rather funky one though! It’s perfect for the younger generation and pretty creepy. Just hope they like it!

I investigated POD (print-on-demand) self-publication again this morning. It is all very confusing when you factor in ISBN’s and Copyrights ... and then royalties (which I’m not even bothered about making money from this adventure! I just want my stories to be shared and enjoyed!) I’m considering, next year, collecting up a bunch of my Flash fictions and self-publishing them in a small book. It seems most e-zine companies aren’t very interested in the under-200 area but I have a few that need a home. I’m thinking a small book, with little fun scribbles in the corners, which can be enjoyed just about anywhere. In fact, my vision of the small book is to have it resting in somebody’s bathroom – then when somebody visits the loo they can sit and read it. I don’t really hope or wish for much in life but that right there is a nice dream!

(If that self-publish attempt works and doesn’t prove too much of a headache I’m also considering banding up [read: organizing] with a group of the writer’s from “AWR” to create an anthology. Just something a bit fun. They’re a great bunch and amazing writers. It would be awesome to see their names on a book! Put it through Createspace.com and maybe Amazon.co.uk. Dunno. It’s just a daydream right now and to happen way after I’ve experimented in the self-publishing World first!)

Going out to the pub later to see a bunch of friends I haven’t seen in ages. Getting the social-life kick-started rather well. The NaNoWriMo “TGIO” (Thank God Its Over) party is next Wednesday too. We’ll be taking over the pub again I expect. There’s talk of performing The Beatles “Paperback Writer” randomly with all sorts of instruments and probably pretentious poetry readings again. That’ll be in Brighton. The perfect place for a bunch of zany and creative people!

I haven’t got much else to say. Make sure you wrap up warm, folks, and stay safe. Until next time, Love.

 
 

Jackal
11/26/2010 12:27:49 pm

Bring the house down and set it on FIAR!

.... Also, noobie question. What's an anthology?

Reply
Jenny Delaney
11/26/2010 05:26:25 pm

Wewt! First blog comment. Thank you, Jackal! Definitely setting something on fire :P ... might be my toes at this rate. I need some warmth.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anthology
Anthology is a collection of stories/poems/songs ... etc

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed