Good morning, folks! We have another guest interview for you today: Sensar, the mighty poet! I was just so impressed with his Sestina (formal poem) that I had to grab it for my readers. (Separate blog-post below this one just to keep things tidy!)

There isn’t really that much I can update you on personally. Hugbugs finally got rejected. It hurt a great deal but I think that was because of outside stressful factors being involved. Never mind though! It made it further than before so that is a good sign and one editor did like it. Need to go through a whole lot more rejection in order to get my stories out there too; so there is no point in getting all hurt about it.

Not going to let it stop me (the Delaney bouncebackability has been activated).

I sent Hugbugs out to a new publisher – which I will call Fang. They’re another Young Adult e-zine website. I am determined to find a home for Hugbugs. It really is a good story ... even if the ending is a little “guessable” but honestly I wanted it to be like that because it aids the story with creepiness. (It is basically a “CreepyPasta” for kids. The idea is creepy!)

I also sent out a new story to be published. I cleaned up “The Morning Coffee” and sent it to Blink. They prefer the really short stuff at only 50-words. The Morning Coffee is a little over that with 59-words but I think they don’t mind it being slightly over. It’s another -thinker’s- Flash. It makes you pause and think. It’s also a nice snapshot into a morning – which their website says they like snapshots. Well, I like it at any rate. (If that one comes back as rejected I might send them “The Wish” which is over at Flash Fiction Forums getting work-shopped, thank you XyZy and Locke!)

Bus-Route Rain is still with Vestal. They take a while to reply back usually. Last time about 3 months, so I’m not bothered currently. It is there and I am not thinking about it. They’re a pretty professional site so I expected the reply to take a longer time.

The new job is going very well! Turns out I have a knack for selling the promotional teddies. I found out the staff have a running competition on who can flog the most teddies, so now it is a personal goal of mine to sell as many as possible. I’m already beating some of the full-time permanent staff having sold 4. I’m just too competitive for my own good!

Hmm, anything else to mention? Oh, this morning I think I found the story I am going to write for this month’s Flash Fiction assignment over at A Writer’s Recluse. The topic is “Dr Seuss” and I’ve definitely had a little twitch of inspiration. I think it will need a lot of work though ... so watch this space! The Short Story assignment will be interesting too. I won’t say anything on this one because I will spoil the ending!

The snow’s gone, by the way. It rained ... well, when I say it rained, I mean that it came down in buckets! I’m also making awesome progress on “Under The Dome” which needs to be returned this Wednesday. I should have it finished by then and will probably try and pick up a book some friends recommended. (Damn you King for doing what I didn’t want you to do with one of the characters!)

Stay safe, folks! Love x

 

 

 

James
12/6/2010 02:40:05 am

Just keep on trucking Reffy and I'm sure something will get through. Rowling got rejected by like eleven publishing houses.

*sage nod*

Oh, and I approve of the use of bounceback-ability. Such a great word (it's in the Oxford Dictionary! Soccer AM ftw)

Reply
Jackal
12/6/2010 04:26:42 am

* hugs*

You're very bouncy aren't you? Doesn't matter if you bounce and bounce or steamroll right through anything because YOU'RE THE JUGGERNAUT BITCH, you will get it published.

Also, awwww, promotional teddies! Sounds like an awesome job and you're kicking everyone's ass on it! GO REFFY!!

Reply
Jenny Delaney
12/6/2010 06:32:18 am

RAWR! Juggernaut! :]

Have I ever said that I love you guys? Coz I mean it. Best friends an author could ever wish for and more.

Reply
Jackal
12/8/2010 09:18:47 pm

You're pretty awesome yourself. And I'm actually my own worst enemy =P

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed