Good news, folks. I think!

Hugbugs was accepted ... in a roundabout way. I received an e-mail this morning from one of their contacts asking to hold on to it until the next issue of the magazine, which is June 2011. My story is the first in their folder ... which I suppose could be a good and a bad thing, really. Good in that it made it to the folder of stories and articles intended to be used in the magazine; bad because it has to survive against all the incoming stories before June 2011.

In truth, there could be a bunch of stories that come in that are better than Hugbugs. If a bunch of better stories do come in then Hugbugs will probably get tossed out. It could happen. I know it’s a rather dark view of the matter in hand. Truthfully, I opened the e-mail expecting it to be a rejection because that is how you need to be! If you get your hopes up every time your heart will just disintegrate after a very short time. I knew that Hugbugs was over the word-count they wanted as well. It was definitely a nice surprise!

Now I’m not sure whether I need to celebrate or hold my breath. I’m thinking hold my breath. Still, it is definitely progress.

More good news: I have now sold more teddy bears than anybody else at my Temp place. I’ve also just finished doing my Christmas shopping. Got a couple of really cool things and spent a mini-fortune on my little sister. She didn’t want anything but I know she was just saying that because she doesn’t want me spending any money on her. I would totally tell you what I got for her but I’m not entirely sure if she reads this blog or not.

Oh, I also got some really funky Christmas wrapping paper. I don’t like stuff that advertises Christmas (I’m funky like that) instead this has a bunch of cartoon shiny turkeys. It made me grin when I saw it and I just had to have it.

Festive hugs! x 

 

Jackal
12/8/2010 09:16:01 pm

And there you have it, the advantage of pessimism - everything that happens is either expected or a bonus! Of course, that kind of feels weird if you actually believe the world is against you and all the surprises are good ones.... but whatever. Maybe it's more like realism. Or surrealism... or ismism.

Hehe.. turkeys. Jack Skellington wrapping paper would be perfect, but turkeys will do fine! Also. * hugs back to ya =P *

Reply
James
12/9/2010 10:05:07 am

Pfft, go with optimism always... congratulations Reffy!

Reply
James
12/19/2010 05:07:30 pm

Where is the updates and the writer? Where is the blog that was being?

They have passed like snow upon the high streets, like teddies in the store.

The posts have gone down in the UK, behind the niggles of life into shadow.

How did it come to this?

...

Busy with life, Ref?

Reply
Jenny Delaney
12/22/2010 04:05:43 am

Hugs to James/Agro :] You are a sweetheart. Thank you for bugging me. That was strangely poetic and so very true currently.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed