So, uh! There is no real excuse this time. I’m sorry. There are crazy amounts of things going on in my life and big decisions coming up. Rebuilding a life is not easy – especially when you don’t know what it is you want. This is the first time in my measly 26 years where I can do something for Jenny ... and I haven’t the foggiest what! I have also been rushed off my little butt working for the card shop. They hired me in the end but only as a Saturday part-time (supposed to be only 5 hours) ... but then a whole load of people had to take time off for operations or cruises, so I ended up covering for them. Ended up working crazy hours all straight in a row. People keep telling me about the bigger-than-expected-pay-packet at the end of it all ... while all I can think about is my feet. I need to make an investment in some decent and amazingly comfortable shoes. Perhaps when this pay-packet lands, shopping spree?

To make up for it I do have you a nice new Flashy! Written for the February AWritersRecluse “Flash and Poetry Assignment.” I believe it is rather fun. I certainly had a chuckle writing it. The topic was “Protest” and immediately my mind went to ... well, you’ll find out. I don’t want to spoil it for you.



Protest:

I climb into bed, blood pounding, eyes affixed on her slumbering body. Moonlight caresses the soft curve of her hip like icing on a cake. Gingerly, with breath held, I run a hand under the cover to her hip. She stirs ever so slightly and I hesitate before continuing. The hand, which is warming against her soft skin, trails around to her almost flat belly. I feel the gentlest shiver resonate from her curled body.

Like a cat stalking a mouse I move closer until my cool body is pressed against hers. She willingly leans into me; the full extent of my manhood squeezed between us, against her baby soft bottom. A quiet groan escapes her lip and I seize it as a cue to continue.

Shaking, the hand travels down her stomach. My fingertips brush the first few delicate pubes, not much farther now. I can feel every fine hair on her body and the goose bumps. The feeling sends ecstasy coursing through my veins. The excitement takes over as I feel the urge and heat growing below.

Tonight is the night! Until she turns and mumbles, “Not tonight, dear.” And with a gentle hand pulls me into a hug.



Oooo-Errr-Missus! Erotica! Told you I didn’t want to spoil it. Most of the other authors at AWR will probably go for a more violent version of protest, like stopping abortions or world peace or something equally important. It will probably involve somebody dying. I wanted something fun but also to take the reader on a bit of a journey with it. I wanted the reader to flow the upwards erotic moment and to get swept up with it ... and then to feel the let down.

Mother, as usual, didn’t have much good to say about it. She doesn’t like erotica at the moment apparently. She wanted me to write something more “protest-y” ... sigh. DrJackal on the other hand LOVED it! Huzzah. I think it is pretty “win”!

On to other news ...

FlashFictionForums (Biggin’ up mah bro’s: Javert, XyZy and Locke!) have started a new venture! SixMinuteMagazine! They have just launched an ezine (electronic magazine) and it is well worth the check out. The stories are of the flash fiction variety – being short or very short. This is their first issue. Show them some support, please! As my readers I will be forever grateful! I read all of the stories in this edition and loved them. Some were definitely a bit odd (like the disappearing man and city) but nevertheless good! I would file this edition under “creepy” but that is just opinion. Holliday did an amazing horror short in there - cannot remember the exact title. My favourite was definitely “Genius in a Bottle” and just for the whimsical and silly factor. Seriously. I recommend reading it. If anything it will help you get creative in a zazzly way!

On the same note. SixMinuteMagazine are calling for submissions. They are a flash fiction magazine – so stuff under 1k words is appropriate. In fact, stuff that’s only 50 words is appropriate (for those also struggling to find a market for the exceedingly short snap-shorts! Like me!) I sent them a reworked “Echo” that was created for the Daily Devotions. I reshuffled a few sentences and removed a lot of the excess baggage. It has been with the editors for reading and deciding at least 20 days ... but I am not expecting any rush! They said on the website that the next edition is forecast for April. (Fingers crossed they accept “Echo”!) Oh, and if you do submit something to them, please report it on Duotrope.com to help them build some good wholesome and tasty reputation!

(Not heard anything yet about “Hugbugs” – which I can still only assume is a good thing!)

I’ve been digesting books lately at a crazy rate. It is a well known fact that I have needed to broaden my reading spectrum for a while now. Well, I finally got down to it. The hour lunch breaks at work, and days I do not know what to do with, have been filled with reading!

The hitlist so far: (WARNING: Possibly contains spoilers!)

  •  Tom Holt:
  • “Earth, Air, Fire, and Custard” – such a good book! The twists and turns it takes are simply amazing. I kid you not. This man is seriously funny and it is very easy to disappear into his created-worlds. The custard bit in particular is just a minor clue to his massive genius!
  • “Barking Mad” – this took a while to really enjoy but I think Holt did this on purpose to show how dull the main character’s life really was. However, when it finally zoomed away I was lucky to be able to keep up. Very good ending and also funny, with a lot of fighting involved! This is Vampires, Werewolves, Unicorns ... and lawyers ... all wrapped up in a deliciously chocolaty coating.

  • Celia Friedman: (on recommendation from Zovo @ AWR)
  • “Black Sun Rising” – This was immediate immersion! The world Friedman built and the Hunter are just amazing! Ignore the crappy Prologue and just jump straight into the book. It checks all the boxes on my “must have this if it is to be called Fantasy.” It should be noted that with this book I wanted a better female character though! It seemed to be all about Damien and Tarrant ... with Cee on the side. The descriptions are beautiful. Easy read. (One thing to note: Friedman isn’t good at killing characters off. I feel she rushed one death and it just didn’t have the impact it should have done!)
  • “When True Night Falls” – Amazing follow on. I finally got the female character I wanted in Hesseth! The dark element to this Fantasy book definitely took a step up to the plate as well. In particular “The Wasting Land” bit. Just ... wow. Although it should be noted that the ending did not make me cry – and it should have done. Friedman lacks the ability to make me cry! Lacking what appears to be a main female character until the little girl Jenseny joins and, trust me, you will fall in love with her! (Again, repetition of her failing to make a death a big impact, although she did better this time thanks to the help of Jenseny!)
  • “Crown of Shadows” – This book took a long-long-long time to really get into any action. Sure, there were spits and spats in the beginning but mostly it was political and suspense building, which admittedly began to irritate me. It still had the massive immersion feeling though. This is the book where Karril the demon really takes shape and he turns out to be every bit awesome. The ending is just ... ugh-sweetness! Honey couldn’t taste better if it tried!

  •  Terry Pratchett:
  • “I Shall Wear Midnight” – the ending to the Aching series with the MacFeegles. I started this series when I was but a wee-teenager. I always thought that Tiffany Aching was an amazing role-model. (If only the teenagers of today could read this –or “The Word and the Void” for Nest Freemark- instead of that “Twilight” stuff and have a proper role-model!) This was definitely a tribute to Pratchett. Tiffany was all grown up. It was heartbreaking to follow her struggles at times. I definitely love her. Pratchett ended the book and the series so bloody perfectly! I am not kidding. I was crying, laughing, and squealing all at the same time. It is what I always wished for Tiffany!

  • Terry Brooks:
  • “Armageddon’s Children” – so, I finally decided to give Shannara another go. (I stopped after my dog ate one of the “Elfstones” books because I just couldn’t get back into it!) Well, I spotted this down the library, half on accident, while I was looking for something to waste time as I waited for the Friedman to arrive. I have read the “Word and Void” trilogy and I cried, a lot. I loved Nest Freemark. This is a continuation of that story although set a little into the future. I was immediately happy to be pulled into it. I loved the history bits Brooks did with the children. Also, FEMALE Knight of the Word! Huzzah! That rocks so awesomely I cannot even put it down in words. Gask is back, Logan is lovely, Hawk is just amazing, Angel a tough chickadee. There was only one complaint with this book: the ending! Brooks decided to leave it on an amazing cliff-hanger and unfortunately the second book (“Elves of Cintra”) is out on loan at the library. So I need to wait to find out the conclusion to the cliff-hanger until the other person returns the book. D’oh!

There are probably more. I am sure I read one more of Holt’s ... shrug, either way! There’s my reviews for you folks. I definitely recommend picking up a Tom Holt for some giggles, or Friedman for complete immersion. The MacFeegles will also always have a place in my heart.

Currently reading another Tom Holt: “Ye Gods” (while I wait for “Elves of Cintra” Brooks to return to the library ... or maybe “Wizard’s First Rule” Goodkind to start the “Sword of Truth” marathon). This is a difficult book to follow, what with the quick changes at the beginning – no matter how funny they are, and then the changes to the Gods in the Sun. However, I am expecting it to pick up a bit later. I shall be upset if it doesn’t. I have a back-up plan if it doesn’t: Tom Holt “Someone Like Me” – a short read, or Darren Shaw’s “Lord Loss” – which is a YAhorror type thing.

Other news? Are you honestly still reading? Kudos! You are a brave on to have traversed through so much waffling.

AWritersRecluse might be setting out on an adventure! I mentioned last night about a foolish dream of self-publishing or maybe launching an ezine ... and Zovo took it out of joke form. There is now discussion about perhaps sorting out an anthology for the “as of yet unpublished” authors of AWR or perhaps an ezine that AWR runs that is open to the publishing market. Either option is rather daunting to be honest but completely possible!

  • Self-publishing: We would keep it merely to AWR-submissions. I wouldn’t want to open it to the market. We would organise a few free submissions from the authors on the forum, edit and sort them, that sort of groovy thing. Then it would all be complied into one anthology, with bio’s of the authors, and get sent to somewhere like “Createspace.” There’s a bit of copyright and ISBN stuff to decipher ... and making the final PDF we need to send to Createspace, which I wouldn’t have a clue to do ... and, of course, a little money would need to be parted with for a copy of the book before it is released to the general public ... BUT it is completely possible! If this option did happen we would create a small shop type thing on Createspace or perhaps send it to Amazon. That way our friends and relatives can buy the book and enjoy our minds (eeeew-they be eating our brains? Yuck!)
  • Ezine: This has as many potholes and problems as Self-publishing does. I wouldn’t have the foggiest on how to create a website and keep it running, or even if we do the magazine as a PDF (like 6MinMag) or if it is just something we post (like UntiedShoelaces). However, this option could also be opened up to the public for people to send their stories to us (free, of course, since I am not a millionaire!) Unfortunately this option won’t give us a physical book to put our hands on but it is something I would be interested in doing and I don’t think it would be that difficult either! Just get the legal jargon right and stick to it and then get a publishing routine sorted (and some slush readers – which I can probably do for the first few months since it won’t be that many!)

Both options are applicable as well. It might just be that we use both! Exciting, huh? We could use “the best of the year” from the Ezine stuff to devote towards the book (providing the authors are cool with that!) It shouldn’t be too expensive to do either option too. Hopefully we could find a website that will give us what we want for free.

For now, it is just a discussion over at AWR. Watch this space! Much love readers x







8/5/2014 05:31:06 pm

Quite possibly the most huge component to search engine marketing has become the make an effort within gaining quality websites traffic to somewhat of a positive websites. Website traffic in general represents the level of sinks into and even customers a web page takes. Website traffic is in addition mentioned on best particular traffic about how particular that prospective buyers can be with the products. Just like, a web page around outdoor which will advertises outdoor rods have to an important fisher to travel much more than a friend or relative who not even muskie. There's a lot of ways of bring in website traffic. The web organisations will pay bucks so you can get cheap particular traffic therefore to their websites utilising systems which includes flag promotions and even pay-per-click marketing. Several other normal think about increasing visitor count comprise of virus-like selling and even advertisment around ones own targeted websites trafficat several other website pages.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed