Sorry for not really updating in a while. Life got a little hectic but I think it is settling again. During this time, and without escape, I did manage to read a lot of “Under The Dome” by Stephen King. I seriously cannot put this book down. Right now, even as I am writing this, I want to pick it up again and divulge another hour in his World. So let me tell you my basic thoughts:

*WARNING: There may be spoilers ahead! I’ll try my best to keep them out of here!*

First off, the plot starts as a very basic one but boy does it get complicated! I’m not even half way through the book and already there are several plot-lines running and each of them addictive. Stephen King also leaves enough time between these arcs to really build up the suspense but not enough for you to have forgotten what happened, (which is usually what happens when there are several plot-lines on the go with so many characters).

The beginning of the book is just beautiful. There are no words to explain it! Stephen King keeps the reader fully engaged and hooked through each blow-by-blow moment ... and wow are they some pretty crazy blows!

The novel starts by following personal accounts of the events. The first real five minutes of his World span over around 5-8k words and it really doesn’t feel like it. The imagery and detail he uses to describe everything is so specific and vivid. Be warned: you are in for a lot of blood. I am not kidding, but then what do we expect from King?

The real clinch about this story is that it is about real people. There are no “Mary-Sues” or types that you would never find in real life. These are everyday people, for realz, in an extraordinary situation. It’s like a massive social experiment and you, as the reader, are God watching over all of them. Every new chapter follows a different point of view. You get everybody’s thoughts and can really get inside the characters heads – whether you want to or not. There are some really nasty types in this book but there will also be some that you will love.

I cannot deny that I am really attached to a few of the folks in the book. I will probably cry if something bad happens to them! Seriously, King, please do not kill her/him/them! (Trying to avoid spoilers here for you folks!)

Only grumble I have, which is a very tiny one, is about his repetition about certain phrases. “Cotton-picking-XYZ” being one of them and there are others. I appreciate that some people do actually talk like that in places of the USA, and the vileness of the saying, but several people have used it and a little too much for my tastes. Others might disagree. A variety wouldn’t hurt here.

Oh, and major kudos on the more horrific topics. Stephen King gave enough for the reader to fill in the blanks – rather horribly – but it was not excessive. It’s still an adult book. I would never give this to a younger person to read but he avoided making it needlessly “yucky” or violent. It aided the plot-line rather than just being a reason to spread author imagination/creativity. (I did wonder just exactly how much blood a broken nose could provide but then that is just being pedantic!)

All in all, I would recommend this book to any of my writer friends one million times over ... and I haven’t even finished reading it yet! (Full review to come once I've finished the book. Promise.)

Not really got much else to say! The snow is still falling, by the way. I’ve heard it’s supposed to stop tomorrow but I highly doubt that. I’ll see if I can get another picture up sometime tomorrow if it is still floating down from the heavy clouds! I’m still trying to tackle that cold out of my body too but it seems quite happy to be sitting in the back of my throat – threatening to lunge forth.

I guess staying in the warm indoors with a heavy book and hot drinks isn’t so bad! *Wanders off to read more “Under The Dome”*

 

 

 

9/25/2014 04:52:43 pm

You should check out from a nice amount of COURSE Network's Sporting events products the fact that face mask every last assortment of sporting events together with Snowboarding, Cricket, The game of basketball, Boxing, Hockey, Handbags, Rugby, Soccer, Wrestling, Varying Fighting, or anything else.

Reply
9/25/2014 04:53:00 pm

My organization is a good video clip addict together with I need to mention that see to it that pay out an area for my best wages only so i can snatch the new video clip proving during theatres. Very little music for example relishing the best video clip, a good in height wineglass for my best chosen soda in addition to a pail for fat free popcorn. Paying attention to dvds during the silver screen will make it considerably for inviting working experience.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    May 2012
    August 2011
    April 2011
    March 2011
    February 2011
    December 2010
    November 2010

    RSS Feed